Dogwood Dress

IMG_9675

Ella has been into wearing dresses a lot lately, and especially the kind that she can easily get on and off by herself (you know, so that she can change her clothes 18 times a day… eyeroll).

IMG_9688

The new Dogwood Dress pattern from Sew Like My Mom is perfect for that!  It’s a simple, quick sew, and it just screams SUMMER to me!  I was lucky enough to be a tester for this pattern, and all of the tester versions were so adorable.

IMG_9685

The dress comes in two lengths – short and maxi – and three hem styles – straight, side curve (like Ella’s here), and high-low (I made one of those too – keep scrolling to see that one!).

IMG_9656

The nice thing about the side curve and high-low hems is that they use a facing, so you can add a pop of color AND you don’t have to hem.  Win – win!

IMG_9664

(and here comes the 3-year-old pouty face… oh boy…)

IMG_9665
IMG_9680

IMG_9704

For the next version I went with a plain fabric and added some heat transfer vinyl (HTV)… I bought a Silhouette Cameo when it was a great sale price back in April, and then it just sat in the box in my sewing space for a couple of months… I was so afraid to use it!  But now that I’ve started, I see a lot more HTV in my future.

IMG_9709

This was the tester version of the pattern – the front of the high-low hem has been lowered in the final version, so there is less chance of accidental exposure.  😉

IMG_9710

IMG_9713

I love the little brother photobomb on this next one… he always has to keep track of where she is.  🙂

IMG_9721

IMG_9752

Go grab the pattern – it’s on sale through tomorrow, 6/29!  You can get either sizes 12mo-8 or 6-16 for $6 each, or get all the sizes for $10.

Here are all the details!

Pattern: Dogwood Dress sizes 12 mo-8, Dogwood Dress sizes 6-16, all sizes

Fabric: Pink Stripe Fabric (I purchased mine from Raspberry Creek Fabric, but it looks like it’s sold out right now), Aqua FabricNavy Fabric

Leave a Reply

