Floral Li’l LDT

IMG_8561

On Saturday morning, I had another one of those urges to make Ella a new dress for church on Sunday.  She picked the fabric, this cute and comfy floral knit I bought from Raspberry Creek Fabric.  The in-seam pockets are a plain aqua from my stash.

The pattern is the Li’l LDT by Love Notions, with long sleeves and just the basic banded collar, in a size 3T.  She’s in 3T in ready-to-wear clothes as well, and this dress is exactly the size I like to make when I’m sewing for Ella – a little big, so there’s room for one of those unexpected growth spurts.  There’s nothing worse than making a dress you love, only to have her grow out of it after only a couple of wears!

IMG_8612

The dress came together quickly and it’s super cute on her.  I have a hard time making dresses for her that I have to iron, because, well, they don’t usually get ironed.  This dress is easy to wear, easy to wash (good thing – it had purple marker on it by the end of the day), and she can get it on and off herself, which is a huge plus during this “No, I want to do it!” stage.  Win, win, win.

IMG_8605

IMG_8587

IMG_8594

Oh, and just one more thing… can all of you who sew take a moment with me to appreciate how well this neckline came out?  Yay!!!  Always a great feeling.

IMG_8551

IMG_8581

IMG_8599

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

