Holiday Style

IMG_8136

I don’t have a lot of excuses to get dressed up every year, but Tim’s work holiday party is one of them, and I always look forward to it.  The party is nothing too elaborate – it’s around 40 people gathering at a steakhouse for a nice dinner and then a white elephant ornament exchange.  It’s not super formal, and it’s always a fun time.

IMG_8125

For the last four years – no joke – I have worn the same black wrap dress (with a different scarf) every year.  And I was 16-17 weeks pregnant two of those years.  It was definitely time for a change!

IMG_8138

This look is a combination of two easy to sew and actually really comfortable patterns – just because I’m getting dressed up doesn’t mean I need to be uncomfortable all night!

IMG_8133

The top is the Lane Raglan by Hey June.  I’m all about raglans right now, and I figured why not use one here too?  I used a sequined fabric from Joann (I can’t find it online – sorry!) to give it a little holiday sparkle, and I like the mix of the casual style of the shirt and glitz of the fabric.

IMG_8116

I made it a size smaller than normal and still took it in at the sides a bit so that it would be a more fitted look.  I also made the sleeves shorter because sequins down to my wrists just felt like too much.  Oh, and I promise the sleeves are the same length – one is just pushed up a bit in these pictures.  🙂

IMG_8137

The skirt is from the recently released Sybil Illusion Skirt Collection by Love Notions.  Have you seen all of the options in this skirt pattern?  You basically have every knit skirt covered if you have this one pattern.  Plus, it has pockets (love!) and an option for a tummy control panel.  I used just the regular yoga waistband for this skirt, mostly because I ran out of time to get the right fabric for the control panel.  🙂  The regular waistband works well for this box-pleated version, but I think if I were to make a more fitted style (like the pencil skirt, which is what I want to try next!), I would want the panel.  Because, you know, two kids.  Yeah.

IMG_8115

The fabric for this skirt is also from Joann – it’s this jegging material.  I like how the weight of this fabric works with the pleats on the skirt to give it a little volume – it reminds me of this dress that I made for Ella.

IMG_8123

I finished the outfit with some tights (I think this makes three years in a row for these tights – I know, I have a problem), heels, and a chunky necklace… good to go!

IMG_8098

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Holiday Style

Leave a Reply

