Halloween 2015 – Ariel and Prince Eric

IMG_7523

Happy Halloween, everyone!

We generally don’t go all out for halloween, but this year we were invited to a birthday party where the dress code was “costume or cocktail,” and decided to go the costume route.  The party, which was last weekend, was celebrating our friend’s 30th birthday and his dad’s 70th – 100 years all together.  Since we were celebrating a century of life and friendship, some thoughtful costume making was in order.  🙂

IMG_7522

So I went on pinterest (like you do) and started looking at costume ideas.  This costume is totally inspired by this mermaid costume by Lauren Conrad, except I wanted to make a few changes to make it more like Ariel (why not embrace the red hair, right?) and because I didn’t want it to be quite so revealing…IMG_7524Tim was pretty happy with this costume idea, since his costume didn’t require much to put together – he had the white shirt, jeans, and boots already, and I just quickly hemmed some red fabric from the remnant bin at Joann and tied it around his waist.  Voila!  Prince Eric.  IMG_7486 My costume took a *little* longer… lol!  I didn’t use any patterns for this, so it was a LOT of me walking through the house from my sewing area to the full length mirror in my bedroom to check for fit and decide how to do the next step.IMG_7491The top is just a dark purple quilting cotton.  The skirt has a quilting cotton interior lining with a sequin top layer and about 12 yards of tulle.  🙂  The sequins were on a mesh fabric, and that mesh was plain along the selvedge, so I left that at the top of my skirt just because I liked how it looked.
IMG_7495 IMG_7502 Then to finish it off (and cover my bra straps… I hate wearing strapless bras!) I sewed on some twill tape for straps and added some seashells.IMG_7515 IMG_7518

Overall, I was pretty happy with how it turned out!
IMG_7541IMG_7553 And Ella liked it too… she kept wanting to touch it and has asked me almost every day since then if I want to wear it again!IMG_7562 IMG_7563 I love this cute girl!  She has the option of being a princess or a firefighter this year (both are just part of her dress-up clothes we already have in the house), but since she has been running a fever off and on for the last couple of days, she might not even get to go to our church’s trunk-or-treat tonight… we’ll see how she’s feeling.  Luke has a borrowed pumpkin costume, but after a trip to urgent care this morning for a self-inflicted scratched eye (corneal abrasion for all you doctor types), he’s not feeling 100% either.  Sooo… I’m actually glad I didn’t spend a bunch of time making costumes for them this year.IMG_7565IMG_7570 IMG_7575

Thanks for reading!  What were you for halloween this year?

One thought on “Halloween 2015 – Ariel and Prince Eric

Leave a Reply

