Blake Dress

The Blake dress by Mingo & Grace is, in my opinion, one of the cutest little girl dresses out there.  I just love the clean, simple lines and the full pleated skirt.  Other people must agree, too, because when I pinned the link to the pattern on my pinterest board for Ella, it was by far the most re-pinned item I’ve ever had.  The number of people re-pinning it convinced me that I had to buy the pattern, and I’m so glad that I did!

DSC_8692

I have to give a huge shout-out to my friend Josh, who took all of these pictures.  Not only does he have amazing photography skills, but a beautiful home and yard to take the pictures in!  Thanks Josh!!!

Version 2IMG_4041The fabric for this dress, both the outer and lining fabrics, are from FabMo (I promise I’ll get around to posting about this amazing place soon!), which means the most expensive part of this dress (other than the pattern) was probably the invisible zipper.  Score!

The hairbow was crocheted by my mom and I put it together using this tutorial by Jess at Craftiness is Not Optional.  Because what’s a cute dress without a cute hairbow to match, right?
DSC_8753 DSC_8758 DSC_8759

These and other pictures from this photo shoot doubled as Ella’s two-year pictures, even though they were taken a couple of months after she turned two.  What can I say – when your little brother is born on your birthday, it takes a while to get back into the swing of things!

DSC_8762DSC_8745

The following picture is one of my favorites, because it includes two things that are very “Ella” – bright pink toenails and dirty hands.  This girl is just the most amazing combination of pink princess girly-ness and roll-in-the-mud fun.  She is constantly surprising us with the things she says and does, and it’s so, so rewarding to see her little mind learning and growing every day.  We love you Ella!

DSC_8746

Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “Blake Dress

  1. LOVE these pictures and this dress! 🙂 What type of fabric did you use? Other bloggers have mentioned using very heavy fabric, like upholstery fabric. I have this pattern bought and need to choose my fabric!

    Like

    1. Thanks Amber! Since I got the fabric second-hand, I’m not 100% sure what it is, unfortunately! But it worked well because it was thicker and yet still pretty lightweight. For this pattern I would recommend using something thicker in order to give the skirt more volume – you don’t need to, but I think it makes it cuter. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

