the beginning

After my daughter was born just over two years ago, we discovered that she was a “spitter.”  As in, she could drench herself and anyone holding her, at any moment, regardless of when she had last eaten.  What this meant for me was that I needed more burp cloths ASAP, and some that were super absorbent.  I decided to use cloth diapers, and since I was on maternity leave with my first baby and had some extra time on my hands, I thought I would “cute” them up a bit with some flannel material.  So I borrowed my mother in law’s sewing machine and literally read the manual in order to make my first project:IMG_1783And… I fell in love with sewing.  My mother in law gave me a sewing machine for Christmas a few months later (in order to get her machine back!) and I’ve been diving into the world of sewing ever since.  I’m self-taught (with the help of many, many tutorials and online videos) and would still classify myself as an adventurous beginner, but I’m having a lot of fun and I’m hoping to share some of my projects here.  I’ll probably also share some other things along the way.  I hope you stop by from time to time and check it out!IMG_1788

Leave a Reply

